News from Past Glass Woman Prize winners and top contenders:




Tawnysha Greene's novel A House Made of Stars is available for pre-order from Burlesque Press (2015). Tawnysha Greene's story "Tongues" was a finalist of the Thirteenth Glass Woman Prize.



Joani Reese is the March 2014 winner of the  Glass Woman Prize. Night Chorus, a 2015 collection of her amazing poems, is available on



Nonnie Augustine is the winner of the 16th Glass Woman Prize. Her beautiful book of poems One Day Tells its Tale to Another, is available on



PJ Devlin, a runner up for the March 2009 Glass Woman Prize, recently published her first novel with Possibilities Publishing Company. Wissahickon Souls, a story of love, race, regret and reconciliation set in Philadelphia and Haiti in the early 19th century, is available on Amazon. PJ has published a number of short stories, including “The Witch” online at Rose Red Review and “The Decline and Fall,” a runner up in the 2013 Saturday Evening Post Great American Fiction Contest. 




Heretics: A Love Story a new novel by Mary Saracino was published in 2014 by Pearlsong Press. For more information about the novel and to listen to an audio clip of the author reading an excerpt from the first chapter, visit her website at:!latest-book/mainPage. Mary Saracino's story "Vicky's Secret" won the Second Glass Woman Prize, September 2007.



The Rental Heart and Other Fairy Tales by Kirsty Logan (Salt, March 2014) includes previous Glass Woman Prize runner-up winner "The Man from the Circus" and previous finalist "Tiger Palace."



Congratulations to Mercy Adhiambo who graduated from college in August 2012. She was a top contender for the Glass Woman Prize with her stories "The Untold Story" (2007) and “The Rich River” (March 2008). 

Congratulations also to Kim Robinson who, upon reading Mercy Adhiambo's above-mentioned stories, inspired her own students, her school, and her friends to collect the funds for Mercy Adhiambo's college education.

"You Don't Even Have To Win," written in 2008, tells how it came about.  



Three Squares a Day with Occasional Torture, a collection of stories by Julie Innis, was published in May 2012 by Foxhead Books. Julie Innis is the author of "Sanctuary," the winning story of the Seventh Glass Woman Prize.


Here is a Writers' checklist interview with Myra King, author of "The Black Horse," a finalist for the Seventh Glass Woman Prize, regarding her novel Cyber Rules. Cyber Rules is also the subject of the following Press Release (April 30, 2012):

Certys publishes novel by prize-winning Australian author
Publisher Certys Limited, the company behind the successful Global Short Story Competition, has published its latest ebook, by prize-winning Australian writer Myra King.
The novel Cyber Rules tells the story of Anthea Stevenson, a farmer’s wife, midlife-challenged and living in isolated rural Australia. For many years, she has harboured a dark secret. Now caught up on the addictive side of the Internet, she holds another secret, one which ultimately may prove to be far more deadly.
Myra’s royalties from sales of the book will go to Médecins Sans Frontières Doctors Without Borders, an international, independent, medical humanitarian organisation that delivers emergency aid to people affected by armed conflict, epidemics, natural disasters and exclusion from healthcare. Medecins Sans Frontières offers assistance to people based on need, irrespective of race, religion, gender or political affiliation.
About Myra King
Myra King is an Australian writer, and a member of SINC, living on the coast of South Australia. She has written a number of prize-winning short stories, including first prize in the UK-based Global Short Story Competition, and has a short story collection, City Paddock, published by Ginninderra Press.
In 2010 her short story, The Black Horse, was shortlisted for the US Glass Woman Prize. And in 2011 her story, The Trousseau Box, was story of the week in Short Story America.
She has upcoming (or recent) work in Boston Literary Magazine, Eclectic Flash, Meat for Tea, eFiction, Red River Review, Fast Forward Press, Illya’s Honey Journal, San Pedro River Review, The Fiction Shelf, and The Foundling Review.
Her work has also appeared in The Pages, Herons Nest, BuzzWords, Eclecticism, Every Day Poets, Meuse Press, Dark Prints Press and A Hundred Gourds.
How to buy the book
The book can be purchased, price £2.05, by going to the Amazon site ( and keying the title into the Kindle store. Australian readers will have to purchase via Amazon US at 

If you don’t have a Kindle - free Kindle reading apps for your PC: 


Myra can be contacted for interview through John Dean at or direct at
More information on the Global Short Story Competition can be discovered at


Beverly Akerman, author of two top contending stories for the Third and Seventh Glass Woman Prize, March 2008 and March 2010, respectively, reports:

My book, The Meaning of Children, was published in Canada in 2011 by Exile Editions. The book won the David Adams Richards Prize and was a Top 10 for the CBC-Scotiabank Giller Prize Readers’ Choice Contest. It contains both of my Glass Woman Prize “Top Contender” stories: “Pie” ( and “Like Jeremy Irons.” ( Some of the wonderful reviews and feedback on the collection are found here: I hope to release it soon in the US and as an ebook.

And here are some press comments and links to interviews:

“Akerman holds up our greatest fears, not to dwell on them, but to marvel at our commitment to life, especially to passing it on to others.”

~Anne Chudobiak, The Montreal Gazette

“This isn’t the invented childhood of imagination and wonderment…[here] children both corrupt and redeem: each other, family relationships and the female body.”

~Katie Hewitt, The Globe & Mail

TV & Radio Interviews:;

Twitter: Beverly_Akerman



GOOD NEWS FROM A SEVENTH GLASS WOMAN PRIZE TOP CONTENDER (2010):  Myra King's story collection, CITY PADDOCK, was published in June 2010 by Gininderra Press Royalties from this book will be donated to the Creswick Light Horse Troop. This organization keeps the Light Horse memory alive and helps to save unwanted racehorses. --
PS: I read the book. It's excellent! Beate Sigriddaughter



GOOD NEWS FROM THE FIRST GLASS WOMAN PRIZE WINNER (2007): Nanette Rayman Rivera's memoir, to live on the wind, was just published by Scattered Light Publications.  It includes a revised version of the Only The Homeless Find The Divine which won the first Glass Woman Prize in 2007. 



Mercy Adhiambo, top contender with her stories "The Untold Story" (2007) and “The Rich River” (March 2008) continues her journalism studies in Nairobi.  Read about her road to her studies, and how it relates to the Glass Woman Prize, in my essay "You Don't Even Have To Win."